rusk building

Mike Novak

Vice Chair

Mike Novak Photo

Commissioner Mike Novak of San Antonio was nominated for appointment by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and appointed by Governor Rick Perry in 2011 and reappointed by Governor Perry in 2013 for a term to expire January 31, 2019. Commissioner Novak is founder and CEO of Novak Group LLC, a premier construction management and energy solutions firm, and has more than 30 years of industry experience in construction management.

Prior to forming Novak Group, in 1980 Commissioner Novak founded Contemporary Constructors, Inc. an award-winning general contracting firm responsible for many San Antonio landmarks including the McNay Art Museum expansions, the original Majestic Theatre restoration, the SeaWorld Administrative Facilities, and the Trinity Baptist expansion. In the early 1990s, Commissioner Novak also formed CCI Telecom, Inc., which specialized in design-build services to high-tech telecommunications and air traffic control radar industries.

Commissioner Novak earned his bachelor's degree in business administration from St. Mary's University in 1975. Throughout his business career, he has also been active in public service and community affairs, holding elected and appointed positions including service as the presiding Tri-Chair of the San Antonio Military Transformation Task Force (“MTTF”) since 2006. The MTTF is a City of San Antonio, Bexar County, and Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce initiative to share information, to assist the military in implementing base realignment and closures ("BRAC"), to address any impacts on the community, and to leverage BRAC to strengthen the economy and revitalize affected neighborhoods. Commissioner Novak has also served as a Bexar County Commissioner, the Chairman of the Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, the Chairman of the Board of Morningside Ministries, a member of the Board of Governors of the Cancer Therapy Research Center, and the San Antonio Chapter President of the Associated General Contractors of America.

Mike Novak
1711 San Jacinto Blvd.
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 463-3446

The Texas Facilities Commission consists of seven board members. Three members are appointed by the governor, two additional members appointed by the governor from a list of nominees submitted by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and two members appointed by the lieutenant governor.  The Executive Director manages the day-to-day business of the Commission, employs staff and fulfills duties and responsibilities assigned by law or delegated by TFC.