rusk building

Robert D. Thomas


Robert D. Thomas photo

Robert D. Thomas of Austin was appointed Chair of the Texas Facilities Commission by Governor Greg Abbott in September of 2015 for a term to expire January 31, 2021. Robert D. Thomas is an attorney, businessman and founding principle of the Thomas Consulting Group, a business strategy consulting and advisory firm. Robert's entrepreneurial business strategist experience includes advising business and organizational growth from start-ups to established companies across wide ranging industries. In addition, he has been a business owner and CEO, and a valued partner to other CEOs and Boards of Directors, providing laser-focused insight translating into increased operational efficiencies and gains in revenue and profits. His broad-based business and legal experience has been instrumental in resolving complex business challenges and facilitating growth and business solutions to meet demanding objectives.

Robert's community engagement includes service as the Tri-Chair of the Austin ISD Community Bond Oversight Committee and as a member of the Austin Community College Bond Oversight Advisory Committee, with the mission of ensuring that public bond monies for major construction and renovation projects are expended with the utmost efficiency and cost-effectiveness. Robert has also worked to strengthen Texas communities as a former gubernatorial appointed board member of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs. In addition, Robert is a Rotarian, a member of the Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce, the Real Estate Council of Austin, and is the former Chairman of the Board of SafePlace.

Robert is married to Amy Shaw Thomas and they have two second generation Texas Longhorns. Robert holds bachelor's degrees in Political Science and German from Loyola University, a law degree from the University of Texas School of Law, and a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Texas McCombs School of Business.

Robert D. Thomas
1711 San Jacinto Blvd.
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 463-3446

The Texas Facilities Commission consists of seven board members. Three members are appointed by the governor, two additional members appointed by the governor from a list of nominees submitted by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and two members appointed by the lieutenant governor. The Executive Director manages the day-to-day business of the Commission, employs staff and fulfills duties and responsibilities assigned by law or delegated by TFC.